4/2/06
Blast door map
ooh. I love a puzzle. yeah, I got the square roots and the fact it’s latin right away too. I even rez’d the thing up and inverted it so the letters are black on white, but I can’t make out much more. What translation engine do you use? I can’t find one that works.

But if yours are correct, string them together and it paints a glum picture:
The treatment is worse than the disease.
It’s a bad plan that can’t be changed. (Something bad is motion we can’t change (or stop) it. OR It’s a bad plan IF we can’t change it.)
I think therefore I am depressed. (Well who wouldn’t be, I guess.)
Save your self from hell!
Here there be dragons.

wow. very interesting. Especially the thing in the middle. “Don’t consider that anything has been done if anythiing is left to be done.” That’s cryptic, but could be interepreted to signify that there’s still hope. (Lift up your hearts.) Lucan figures as a character in the Divine Comedy (Dante’s Inferno). Besides being a poet who was forced to commit suicide… Though Dante says the gates of hell are labeled: Abandon all hope, of ye who enter here. It seems the writers are telling us to cling to hope.

The equationsall reveal the numbers as answers I bet. The the easy one was just a gimme. And though the writers SWEAR that there’s NO SIGNIFCANCE to the numbers, they are lying. The fact that they add up to 108 alone is significant in a number of religiious beliefs, and that they consistently, and repeatedly use religious refs, belies this assertion.

I think the parallel lines with Xs on the ends an indicate passages leading to the central… master hatch? Maybe the blue lines connecting the hatches across the middle are triangulation lines or something?

What does the CVI, CVII etc. mean? I never read Dantes Inferno, but weren’t there levels or degrees of hell?

This is fun. And doesn’t it really remind you of Myst? Like you have to go somewhere and do something and it triggers something somewhere else… I wonder if the writers are fans of Myst and it’s ilk.

OOOH! Yes. Dante’s Inferno did have levels of Hell and the poem is divided into (drum roll please) Cantos I, Cantos II, etc.

Cantos I: Midway on our life’s journey, I found myself In dark woods, the right road LOST.

Cantos II: Dante invokes the Muses, the ancient goddesses of art and poetry, and asks them to help him tell of his experiences.

Inferno takes the form of an allegory, a story whose literal plot deals entirely in symbols, imbuing the story with a second level of meaning implied by, but broader than, the events of the narrative. On a literal level, The Divine Comedy portrays Dante’s adventures in the fantastic realms of Hell, Purgatory, and Heaven, but these adventures allegorically represent a broader subject: the trials of the human soul to achieve morality and find unity with God.

Well the writers, can deny it all they like. But there it is. A lot of people have been saying that the island is like Purgatory. If the plane crash was Hell, then is Heaven yet to come? Perhaps for the “good people”. Shivers.

Those sneaky bastards.

